Life

Semester Endings {New Beginnings}

Every semester that ends, the goodbye only seems to get harder. 

 

My heart was heavy last week. As great of a week as it was, filled with holiday parties, reunions, and the accomplishment of ending the semester strong. It was also the end of some exciting chapters in my life. I know in the long run and from experience there are only bigger, better things ahead, but the goodbye still always seems to be hard to take.

My best friend Alyssa Stockard made her return back from her semester abroad just in time for my Christmas cookie exchange party! Wow — was it great to run into the biggest hug with that girl or what, it surely was. Simply being able to immediately sit in her car as I listened to her sass about something going on was one of the greatest moments, because in that moment, it was as if everything was back to normal and 4 months apart had not even happened.

Everyone that was important or mattered to me came to my Christmas Cookie Exchange party. Christmas music, cookies, apple cider, and friends — I love initiating get togethers like this. A year from now, I hope to actually have my own apartment to host these type of gatherings. I love watching how the core roots of the friendships you make in life, will always find their way back to its roots. The semesters are busy and we all develop our own communities around campus, yet somehow,  we always find out way back to each other — it felt like everyone coming home for Christmas. 

12395071_10203807097496634_311840523_n

Christmas Cookie Party Exchange 

Something I did not expect to happen by the end of the semester was the breakfast I had Thursday morning with my girls, Kiani and Alyssa. Alyssa just came back from her semester abroad while Kiani is preparing to leave. Getting to spend time with both of them in one place in fellowship, was the sweetest touch to wrap my semester up.

Friday morning Intern McPippet signed off The Rick and Bubba Talk show one last time. I am so glad I have blogged throughout the experience on this show because it definitely has been quite a journey. I never expected when I started this semester what an opportunity this internship would end up being for me. I wrote a poem to read for my exit interview reflecting on what I have learned, in which Rick Burgess quoted after I read it, “There is not a dry eye in the place.” 

I am forever thankful and grateful for the opportunity this internship was for me. Back in the blog I wrote at the end of summer, I expressed how I wanted to figure out more about what I wanted to do in journalism –yet, I had no idea broadcast was going to become apart of that desire. As sad as I was to have my last day, I also am filled with excitement to find the next opportunity. Rick and Bubba have given a solid foundation and confidence to now leave the nest and make it on my own. Networking has only just started, but the best has yet to come. Because of Rick and Bubba I learned how to take the initiative and be a self-starter, that you might have to be a little manipulative, you must be unique instead of good, and never take no for answer. You could even just surprise yourself one day, such as I did this semester, becoming a sports broadcaster. I am forever thankful for Rick and Bubba and all the people who I met along during my time there. They are my mentors, but more importantly they became a sense of family to me during my time there.

unnamed

Intern McPippet’s Exit Interview with written poem 

unnamed-1

Adler, Rick, Bubba, Speedy, and Greg (missing Helmsey in photo)  

2 years ago I had a freshmen foundations class that met once a week for an hour. There I met the quiet girl who sat behind me. The very first day we had to ask each other small talk questions and then present the other person to the class. As awkward as that encounter was, it was on a group project later that semester to discover coffee houses in Birmingham, that we decided to hang out again. That lead to that same quiet girl realizing along with myself, that as opposite as we were, we actually somehow cliqued. Soon a friendship formed which lead to us becoming roommates. Then, fast forward 1 1/2 years, my roommate Kiani Yiu and I had our last night in our room in Beeson Woods.  

unnamed-2 

Our home for the past 1 1/2 

Next semester, Kiani is studying abroad in London. I’ve known she has wanted to study abroad since I first met her, yet somehow that time came faster than I expected. Since we first met each other, we have been on our own trip to London studying abroad for Jan term, we have encountered multiple trips from Tennessee to Florida, and have lived with each other through the ups and downs. I could talk on and on about what she has contributed to my life and how much our friendship means to me, but I am only going to sound corny instead of real. Even though I know we are going to live together in our apartment next year, it was a closing chapter to the book as we looked at our room one last time together. This particular room was our home and our own little escape that belonged to the two of us.

I know Kiani is going to have the adventure of a lifetime in London while I continue to discover what is in store for me in Birmingham next semester. I also know that although we are going different ways, I know it is not a goodbye forever, just a see you later for now. It still simply doesn’t make goodbye any easier. Yet, as it is once said before I now find to be very true, “I am so lucky to have someone it is so hard to say goodbye too.”  I will see you soon roomie, can’t wait to find our new home.

unnamed-4

Kiani and McLane — Roommates

Goodbyes are hard, but I continue to find it so rewarding to look back on the success of this semester. Even though the goodbyes don’t get easier, I always realize how blessed I am to have a place like Samford that gives me these hard goodbyes. As Ecclesiastes 3:1 says “There is a time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven.”  

Until it is time for the next adventure.

 

Leave a comment